Gluten Free Pancakes: The Power of Buckwheat

I will like to start off my blog post by apologizing. I have not been blogging due to personal drama (face burn, knee drama, grad school, job hunting, ect….) But now that most of the chaos has calmed down, I am getting back to my normal self. If anybody was wondering my second degree burns on my forearm and face have healed a lot.

Now let’s get down to business, lately I have been trying to find the best gluten free pancakes. So far the recipes I have been testing are vegan, no complaints here. I just wanted to highlight those recipes here and here.  The reason I have been exploring buckwheat pancakes is because rather than making me feel sluggish like most pancakes, buckwheat does not. So of course I did some research, here, and it became obvious that Buckwheat is a power house of nutrients and healthy benefits. I found integrating Buckwheat into my diet was not as hard as I assumed.

Ingredients Flax Seed Egg:

  • 2 Tablespoons Milled Flax Seed
  • 6 Tablespoons of Warm Water

This makes 2 “Eggs” the general ratio is 1:3.

Ingredients Buttermilk:

  • ½ Cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 2 Tablespoons Apple Cider Vinegar

Ingredients for Pancakes:

  • ½ Cup Wholegrain Buckwheat
  • ¼ Cup Rice Flour
  • ½ Teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 Teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1 Packet of Milled Chia Seeds
  • Vanilla Extract
  • 2 Tablespoons Maple Syrup
  • 1 Banana, half mashed and half diced.
  • Optional Step: Fruit or Chocolate Chips

Directions:

  • Make the Flaxseed Egg, cover with Saran wrap and leave in the fridge for 30 mins.
  • Make the “Buttermilk” and leave at room temperature for 20-30 mins.
  • Mix all the dry ingredients together.
  • Add in the half mashed banana, the flax seed eggs,  the “buttermilk”, the diced banana, the maple syrup, and vanilla extract.

20140404-090640.jpg

  • Fold in fruit or chocolate if you want.
  • Warm up the pan to medium heat and add some cooking spray or coconut oil.
  • Pour the batter in about ¼ cup give or take.
  • 2-3 Minutes, or until bubbles appear, flip, and cook for another 1-1:30 minute.

20140404-090623.jpg

20140404-090711.jpg 20140404-090558.jpg

I have done fruit, chocolate chips, and nutella on these pancakes and they are all excellent toppers. 

 

Leave a comment